Heathcliff House English Riviera Tourism Awards 2019 Torquay in Devon
Heathcliff House English Riviera Tourism Awards 2019 Torquay in Devon
 

More Genuine Reviews

________________________________________________________________________________

Warm, friendly welcome

Stayed in October. Weather was kind so we managed to get out and about.  The welcome at Heathcliff was warm and friendly - Nigel & Juliette are consummate hosts. The rooms are a good size and well decorated. There are nice touches like treats upon arrival and a fridge in some of the rooms. Bed linen is crisp & fresh and the bed was very comfortable.  The options for breakfast are good and they are cooked to perfection.  Everything is done in a COVID-19 safe manner but without detracting from your stay.  Have already booked our next stay!

 

Tips for other travellers - No 7 Bistro is a must for fish lovers - book in advance.  Brixham is well worth a visit

 

David, Devizes 22.10.20

________________________________________________________________________________

Interesting connection to Agatha Christie

Nigel & Juliette are very hospitable and make every effort to make your stay as comfortable as possible. They are a good source of information about travel and placed of local interest which Torquay area is full of. Juliette makes some very nice cakes and desert's and Nigel's breakfasts are difficult to rival with.

 

Tips for other travellers
A very good location for transport and an easy walk down to the bay. The house itself has interest as site in the life of Agatha Christie and was used by Agatha Christie in her first novel as the place of the vicarage in, "Murder at the Vicarage". The rooms are comfortable with ensuite bathrooms.

 

Nigel, Neston 05.10.20

________________________________________________________________________________

Returning Guests

This was our second visit in a couple of weeks. We only ever return to places we like and feel very comfortable with, I think that speaks for itself!  Thanks again to Nigel and Juliette! See you hopefully in the not too distant future.

 

Tips for other travellers - For morning coffee Burridges on the harbour front.

 

Anthony and Janys, Portsmouth 05.10.20

 

Anthony and Janys have booked for 2021

________________________________________________________________________________

lllll Warm welcome at Heathcliff House

Juliette and Nigel have worked hard to make our stay as normal as possible during current restrictions and have certainly succeeded. The breakfasts are lovely with a large range of cereals and cooked meals, served to our tables. Fresh milk is provided for the tea facilities in the bedrooms. They are on hand to supply any additional items needed. There is a small bar/ lounge area and outside space to sit. Would thoroughly recommend a stay.

 

Liz, Worcester 04.10.20

________________________________________________________________________________

Lovely place to stay

Heathcliff House was a lovely place to stay, Juliette and Nigel were lovely and made you feel very welcome. It was spotlessly clean and the breakfast was very good. Would definitely stay again.

 

01.10.20

________________________________________________________________________________

Welcoming

Juliette and Nigel are very welcoming hosts. Full hearty cooked breakfast to start your day. Felt completely safe with the COVID 19 procedures that are in place. You are fully informed of what to expect before you arrive. Would definitely recommend to friends & family.

 

Eileen and Stan, Welling 01.10.20

________________________________________________________________________________

lllll Amazing time and great memories

Well how do start a review like this? Let’s follow the lEDErs and say good evening, good evening, good evening and get drawn into the Facebook / YouTube world of Heathcliffe House. You are welcomed by the message “arrive as guests leave as friends” a bold statement indeed Mr and Mrs Ede? Well let’s go through our journey and experience of a 3 night visit in September 2020.


In these tricky C19 times how safe were we at Heathcliffe HQ? Well we had no worries here. Sanitisers, wipes, one way stairs, ample parking, 2 sittings for breakfast, same safety rules for dinner, simple guides on ordering breakfast and dinner and collection. So basically no ambiguity and you have clarity on even the most ambiguous government rules! Boris you should visit so you might get it a bit better! Enough politics it’s a Holiday ? Rooms we’re fantastic we stayed in numero 9.


Breakfast was cooked to order and perfection I loved the use of local produce like sausages they were fantastic. Eggs to die for as well. All cooked by Nigel (special guest of his brother whilst we stayed) and the hostess with the mostest the lovely Juliette. Some great chats on the world were had. Special mention to Agatha Christie and the lure of clientele it was all fantastic and some great tales of goings on during Agatha Christie week.

It’s a great location to visit Devon from and within a hours drive in all direction you experience the beauty that is Devon. Also a short walk into the Bay Area for food and entertainment. That’s if you can prize yourself away from the Ede hospitality.

Love the approach of all home made and Juliette’s deserts and pastries to die for. Tune into the weekly Nigel’s Nuggets for all local updates. A little bird tells me a spin off channel maybe launched soon. Juliette your GBBO fan club need you as I have exhausted my one recipe now!

So in short my only issue with Heathcliffe HQ is the dilemma to the opening statement! What if you already arrive as friends? What then do you leave as?


Look forward to visit number 2 thanks for making my 50th birthday memories what they are.

Graham and Ang, Waltham Abbey 03.10.20

________________________________________________________________________________

Safe and comfortable Stay

Made very welcome, food and service were excellent as was hospitality.

The atmosphere was homely, and every provision made to ensure a safe and comfortable stay.

 

Brian and Maureen, Leigh-on-Sea 27.09.20

________________________________________________________________________________

Will return

Safe and enjoyable stay, Nigel and Juliette were the perfect hosts. Nothing was too much trouble, we will return.

 

Morgan and Sue, Nottingham 24.09.20

________________________________________________________________________________

Excellent stay

Will recommend establishment to friends and family.Will stay again soon

 

Shaun and Leigh, Bristol 21.09.20

________________________________________________________________________________

Welcoming

Very friendly and very welcoming, nothing too much trouble and the Paddington bear marmalade is a must.  Tips for other travellers - Kents caves very interesting but you must be steady on your feet x

 

Denise and Gary, Bristol 21.09.20

________________________________________________________________________________

Fantastic breakfast

Warm welcome, exceedingly good company and the 'chefs' produced a fantastic breakfast with plenty of choice. Room light and airy and very comfortable. Juliette is very knowledgeable about the history of the house and both of them on the locality. The evenings spent in the bar were great fun!!!! As they say "welcomed as visitors, left as friends". Looking forward very much to our next stay.

 

Brian and Brenda, Nottingham 21.09.20

________________________________________________________________________________

Returning Guests

This was our second visit so we had met Nigel and Juliette previously.

 

The location of the hotel is spot on; it's right on the no.12 bus route and this takes you directly to either Newton Abbot or in the other direction to Torquay, Paignton or Brixham. There's also parking for your car and that's a good thing in Torquay.

 

If you are worried about staying away from home due to the current Covid situation, don't be. Juliette and Nigel follow strict guidelines and procedures to ensure that visitors feel safe and secure.

 

Breakfasts are just stunning! There are 2 sittings so you are seated more than 2 metres away from fellow guests. Did I mention that the breakfasts are amazing?! Go for a 'Heathcliff' - you won't be hungry for the rest of the day!

 

Rooms are very comfortable with the usual tea and coffee making facilities and TV. I can't recommend this hotel enough; it's warm, comfortable and you have hosts that can't do enough for you. We've already booked for next year!

 

Tips for other travellers - If you intend to use the bus, buy a day rider ticket or a mega rider for the week - they are so much cheaper and you can use them as much as you want. Try to book restaurants to avoid disappointment and take a visit to Babbacombe beach - a truly beautiful location.

 

Jackie and John, Warrington 18.09.20

________________________________________________________________________________

Nothing too much trouble

A lovely couple who welcomed us into their home. Nothing was too much trouble. If you want to know anything from places to visit to places to eat, just ask.  Tips for other travellers - Torre station is the nearest station (within easy walking distance). Local Stagecoach bus number 12 passes this hotel to Newton Abbott and Brixham. Recommend you buy a Torbay day rider ticket which, at the moment, is £5 per person for unlimited travel on the day of purchase.

 

Tommy and Karen, Bognor Regis 16.09.20

________________________________________________________________________________

Really enjoyed our stay

We really enjoyed our stay, Nigel and Juliette were very friendly and their breakfast and homemade meal were delicious.  The rooms were very clean and the shower was lovely, the only criticism we had was the bathroom could do with a shelf to put toiletries on.  We will be going back in March.  Tips for other travellers - We would recommend eating at The Old Smoke House and The Devon Dumpling.

 

Alison and Steve, Westbury 14.09.20

 

We listened to the feedback from Alison and Steve and have added a freestanding caddy for toiletries to the bathroom in Room 6.

________________________________________________________________________________

Friendly stay

Many thanks for the stay. Your friendliness is super.

 

Beth, Cheltenham 12.09.20

________________________________________________________________________________

Warm welcome

Very warm welcoming hosts and lovely people, nothing is too much trouble.

 

Claire and Martyn, Coleford

 

Claire and Martyn are already booked in for their next visit

________________________________________________________________________________

A great break away. Relaxing. Would certainly return

An excellent stay ay Heathcliff House. A very warm welcome was afforded to us upon our arrival.  Great care had been taken to ensure our safety and wellbeing - Felt safe with all the COVID 19 precautions in place.   Great sense of humour!  Spotless everywhere!  Breakfast was outstanding.  Nothing was too much trouble.  Tips for other travellers - We like Buckfast Abbey.  In Torquay, by the harbour, there is a little coffee/tea shop called Burridges. Great!!!

 

Anthony and Janys, Portsmouth 12.09.20

 

Anthony and Janys have been back for a second visit and have booked for 2021!

________________________________________________________________________________

Would recommend Heathcliff House

Both Nigel and Juliette were excellent hosts.  Could not do enough for us, we would definitely go there again and recommend them.

 

05.09.20

________________________________________________________________________________

Covid safe

We were made to feel really welcome.  We felt Covid safe throughout the hotel.  Breakfasts were excellent.  Room was very comfy and clean.  Nigel and Juliette were fantastic hosts.  Tips for other travellers - Plenty to see and do in the area.  Plenty of eateries.

 

Viv and Dave, Radstock 05.09.20

________________________________________________________________________________

Returning guest

Another lovely long weekend at Heathcliff House, really enjoyed our stay.  Fabulous food and felt very welcome.  Will definitely stay again.  Tips for other Travellers – fantastic bus service from right outside Heathcliff House, didn’t use the car at all.

 

Jan, Frome 04.09.20

________________________________________________________________________________

Loved Everything about Heathcliff House

The building was beautiful, an old rectory. The facilities were very good, everything worked. It was comfortable, clean and spacious. The COVID-19 system they had put in place was very good, at no time did we ever feel at risk. The meals were good home cooked food that was delicious and all the cake and pastries were homemade along with the butter and jams. The proprietors were lovely, we arrived as guests and left feeling like part of the family. Can't wait to go back.

 

Hilary and George, Weston on Trent, Derby 01.09.20

________________________________________________________________________________

Knowledgeable about local area

Very friendly and nothing is too much trouble if requesting anything.  Also very knowledgeable about places to visit and places to eat.  Tips for other travellers - Bus stop outside and train station just few minutes walk, no need to use the car for visiting Paington, Dawlish, Teignmouth, all very nice.  Ferry runs regularly to Brixham and Dartmouth. A must for eating out was The Hole in Wall in Torquay - excellent food and service.

 

Karen and Ernie, Nuneaton 30.08.20

________________________________________________________________________________

Made welcome

Lovely couple, who own the B&B, made us really welcome.  Tips for other Travellers – Lots of nice restaurants to visit but due to COVID-19 remember to book a table.

 

Tim and Kay, Lytham 29.08.20

________________________________________________________________________________

Arrive as guests, leave as friends

Both Nigel and Juliette are excellent hosts, could not do enough.  It’s very true that you go as guests but you definitely leave as friends.  Will be going back again in the near future.  Superb breakfast.  Highly recommend.

 

Doris and Christine, Waltham Cross 29.08.20

________________________________________________________________________________

lllll Excellent Stay

We stayed with Nigel and Juliette from Wednesday 16th September for a week. They were the most amazing hosts and made us welcome in their home. Nothing was too much trouble. Prior to our arrival Juliet e-mailed a welcome pack which contained the new Covid rules and also places of interest to visit. Nigel suggested we leave the train at Torre station as that was the nearest station at only approximately 200 metres away. During our stay Nigel and Juliette were happy to suggest places that we might like to try for our evening meals. Some of the places we visited were Torre Abbey, which is approximately a 10 minute walk away, the seafront is also only about a 10 minute walk. There are plenty of places to eat. We used the Stagecoach Torbay Day Rider bus ticket which was £5 each and can be used on any Stagecoach service on the day of purchase. The breakfasts are absolutely fabulous. Can't wait to return.

The number 12 bus, which stops outside the hotel, goes to Brixham and Paignton. We also use the 22 bus to go to Babbacombe model village, which we thought was well worth a visit.

 

Tommy and Karen, Bognor Regis 28.09.20

________________________________________________________________________________

Returning Guest

Nigel and Juliette are an amazing couple, nothing is to much trouble for them. All the measures in place at this difficult time are of the highest standard. I've now stayed here for the 3rd time and will be booking again soon. Carry on this way and they'll be here for good.

 

Karl, Mansfield 28.08.20

________________________________________________________________________________

lllll Our very positive review of our stay at Heathcliff House 16 - 24 Aug 2020

After deciding on a staycation this year due to Covid and opting for a week's holiday in Torquay, after some online searching we found Heathcliff House and due to it's positive reviews and the amenities offered we decided to book. Before we arrived we received plenty of information by email from the owners Nigel and Juliette, including the all important information about the arrangements in place to keep us safe from Covid-19. From the moment of our arrival we were made to feel very welcome and safe. The arrangements in place made me feel relaxed. Nigel and Juliette are a friendly and welcoming husband and wife team with a wealth of knowledge of the local area as well as the history of the B&B which includes the fact that Agatha Christie has based a book on the place. The B&B we found to be nice, clean and very comfortable. All food served by them is delicious. Whilst there it was our 28th Wedding Anniversary for which we asked for afternnon teas which Juliette kindly prepared for us, with everything home prepared and very delicious. Nigel cooks a cracking full English breakfast which will keep you going all day and is enhanced further by toast spread with Juliette's home made preserves. I loved the lemon curd. An evening spent in the bar talking with either Nigel or Juliette is like spending time with friends. Nothing was too much trouble for them, which made our stay all the more enjoyable. Would we stay there again? 100% yes.

 

Phil and Diane, Stoke on Trent 24.08.20

________________________________________________________________________________

lllll Great B&B

Stayed from Friday to Sunday it’s a really great quality B&B. Rooms are lovely and clean, Juliette and Nigel are great hosts and really make you feel at home. The breakfast was gorgeous and nothing was too much trouble. We would definitely come back to this place when we next come to Torquay. Love Georgia and Peter

 

Georgia and Peter, 24.08.20

________________________________________________________________________________

Perfect

Nigel and Juliette were the loveliest people and it was very evident they are very passionate about what they do with great attention to detail.  COVID 19 precautions and information throughout property and very well-done during breakfast.  Superb breakfast.  We really enjoyed our stay.

 

Ciara and Liam, London 23.08.20

________________________________________________________________________________

Will book direct next time

Great hosts great breakfast, excellent location. Our room was a bit small but it was nice. I am aware there are bigger rooms so we would just book direct and ask for a larger room :)

 

Georgia, Stockport 21.08.20

________________________________________________________________________________

Another fantastic stay at Heathcliff House

 

As returning guests we had another fantastic time at Heathcliff House. The house complies with all the current Covid guidelines with all rooms spotless and cleaned thoroughly. The bedrooms are very comfortable and well equipped. Nigel and Juliette are great hosts and always make you feel extremely welcome. The breakfasts are first class with a whole range of variety and locally sourced products. There is always a friendly atmosphere in the bar area during the evenings. Already looking forward to our next visit.  Tips for other travellers -  If you did not want to use your car during your stay then the location of Heathcliff House provides great transport links either by bus or by train. Torquay Harbour is in walking distance.

 

Kevin and Lisa, Crayford 18.08.20

________________________________________________________________________________

lllll Heathcliff House

We stayed here for six nights, we felt at home immediately. Nigel and Juliette were fantastic our room was clean, en-suite was amazing. We were pleased with the COVID cleaning etc, the hosts did it really well. Lovely breakfast we had evening meal one night absolutely superb. We are looking forward to going back in December. Well done Nigel and Juliette xx

 

17.08.20

________________________________________________________________________________

Superb

Everything from start to finish was superb. Nothing too much trouble.  Spotless, without a doubt one of the best places we have stayed in.The breakfast was amazing.  Everything we wanted and more. Tips for other travellers - Excellent food at the Devon Dumpling and the Hole in the Wall, both recommended by Nigel and Juliette.

 

June and Peter, Ormskirk 16.08.20

________________________________________________________________________________

lllll Great stay

Stayed with Nigel and Juliette at Heathcliff house in Aug 2020. Facing the pandemic and the new normal, they have taken it in their stride to ensure everyone had the best time possible and accommodating measures to keep people safe with social distancing.


There was one-way systems, hand sanitisers and new processes for cups. Juliette also supplied dinner for some guests on some nights of the week where it may be hard to get food reservations.

We had one of the bigger rooms with a large bed, the room was immaculately clean. The breakfast was really good with choice of local supplies and you are able to let them know if you would like anything in particular. they did everything possible to try and make it a wonderful stay which it was.

There are nice views from our particular room and although it is only a 10-minute walk to town it is very easy to catch a bus as the bus stop is right outside and very easy to use.

________________________________________________________________________________

lllll Torquay Staycation

We have just returned from a 5-night stay at the Heathcliff B&B.


We have no complaints what so ever the B&B exceeded all our expectations we opted for a B&B instead of a hotel because of the attention to detail for cleaning and the smaller size meant less people moving around with the current Covid situation. Nigel and Juliette have introduced Covid measures which meant we felt very safe such as two breakfast sittings, a one way system and even anti-bacterial wipes in the room.


The B&B is a short walk to the Marina and Torquay centre making it an ideal location. The breakfast was cooked to order and was delicious everyday, there is a bar area for drinks throughout the day/evening.


If we find ourselves in Devon again we will for sure re-book the Heathcliff.

 

Lauren and Jordan, Newcastle 01.09.20

________________________________________________________________________________

We'll keep coming back

We have stayed here 7 or 8 times. You are always guaranteed a warm welcome, great food and great friendly nights in the bar. I wouldn’t stay anywhere else and would recommend to everyone. Weather wasn’t so good this time but we still had a great time. Thanks to Juliette and Nigel.  Tips for other travellers - The ferry to Brixham is a great way to see the fishing village without parking problems. We travelled to Dartmeet, Dartmoor and Princetown. The Prison museum is a great place to go and an eye opener as to what weapons prisoners can make etc. It’s only 28 miles so well worth it. Plenty of National Trust places and not forgetting beaches. We prefer Goodrington Sands. Go for a ride on the train. Plenty to fill your day.

 

Jean and Andy, Bristol 14.08.20

________________________________________________________________________________

Use the Bus

Thank Juliette & Nigel for making our short stay a most enjoyable, comfortable and relaxing break. Both of you were friendly, very kind and you made us feel comfortable, right from the moment we first interacted.

Your very friendly attitude made us feel like we were visiting old friends. Must not forget to mention Nigel’s fantastic breakfasts and of course Juliette's friendly smiles and helpfulness, which will certainly see us booking another break at your homely B&B. Thank you.

 

Tips for other travellers - We found that purchasing a day-rider ticket on the local number 12 bus (right outside the property) very useful. Allowing us to visit all the local Torbay places of interest and not having to worry about driving and parking...brilliant.  Regarding eating out. There are plenty of eateries to choose from. One special one we enjoyed very much was a Greek Restaurant named Ephesus, located at Torwood Street TQ1 1DT. would definitely eat there again.

 

John and Debbie, Holsworthy 10.08.20

________________________________________________________________________________

Breakfast - WHOW!!!

Lovely welcome, cannot do enough for you, so friendly and the breakfast WHOW!!!  We really did enjoy our stay, met some lovely people and we did leave as friends.  Thank you once again Juliette and Nigel

 

Kevin and Debbie, Cowley 10.08.20

________________________________________________________________________________

Very reasonably priced

Lovely friendly owners, fantastic breakfast. Really comfortable bed, well stocked bar. 10 minutes walk to the beach and restaurants, which is ideal.  Very reasonable price in comparison to others in the area.

 

Terri, Worksop 10.08.20

________________________________________________________________________________

Lovely B&B

Easy to find by train (we got off at Torre). Excellent breakfast and really friendly hosts. 10/10

 

Natalie and Mark, 10.08.20

________________________________________________________________________________

Wonderful place

What a wonderful place to stay, from the moment we walked in to the moment we left we felt relaxed and were very important guests. Nigel and Juliette are perfect hosts, all Covid-19 measures explained and understood. We stayed in Room 7 which was an excellent choice, plenty of room, quiet side of the B&B with a decent view. Breakfast was a 2 sitting affair we were on the second sitting, all controlled by Juliette and Nigel, to an excellent level. We will return, it is a such a lovely B&B, worth staying at if you are planning a trip to Torquay.  Tips for other travellers - Location is in the outer area of Torquay about a 20 minute walk into town. We did a tour of Torre Abbey, which was well worth the entrance fee. We ate out the 3 nights we were there, plenty of choice in the town, some recommend booking, we did for a meal at Prezzo, I know a number are just walk up, but could a good call to book at the moment.

 

Tony and Janet, Shrewsbury 09.08.20

________________________________________________________________________________

lllll 3 nights in Torquay at Heathcliff House

Here again for 3 lovely nights at Heathcliff House.  Its still as excellent as usual with Nigel and Juliette doing everything possible to make our stay as enjoyable as possible were nothing it to much.  A Lovely B&B for adults at a great price with such friendly and attentive hosts.  If you need to know about the area just Nigel or Juliette who are a wealth of knowledge.....


I would recommend to family and friends, Be back soon


Thanks to you both
Mark & Wendy 09.08.20

________________________________________________________________________________

Good public transport links

We really enjoyed our stay. It was well located and convenient for the train and the bus stop is right outside. Nigel and Juliette were so friendly and they gave us lots of tips and advice for our first stay in Torquay. The breakfast was delicious, really good quality ingredients! Tips for other travellers - On the Rocks restaurant was delicious! Below Decks was a great harbour side bar!

 

Natalie and Mark, Berkhamsted 08.08.20

________________________________________________________________________________

Great last minute break! Nigel and Juliette are great hosts

Great location. Lovely warm friendly people. Very clean, great breakfast. Stunning building . Nigel and Juliette are great hosts gave lots of advise of places to see and best restaurants to visit . Room was lovely, light and airy, was nice and cool with ceiling fan, was very hot outside but lovely in our room. Will definitely be visiting again.... get the orange gin in !! :)

 

Erica, Sheffield 08.08.20

________________________________________________________________________________

lllll Brilliant stay

Stayed at the Heathcliff House for 3 nights. Excellent accommodation hosts Juliette and Nigel were a lovely couple who ran the accommodation throughout. Covid restrictions and cleaning were excellent. Felt welcomed and at ease throughout our stay. The hotel is just next to the bus stop so we could park the car up and relax. We had evening meal one night which was great so we could then relax in the bar. On departing we ordered a lunch time pack up which was very substantial. We would certainly book and stay again.

 

Carolyn and Colin, Sheffield Green 07.08.20

________________________________________________________________________________

Back again!

Stayed with Nigel and Juliette a few times now and it’s always a great welcome into their home.... Always immaculately clean and can guarantee the warmest welcome... Very knowledgeable on the area and if you need anything just ask.  We stayed this time in Room 7 that was to the highest standard with fridge, fresh milk, chocolates, and cookies made fresh.... A perfect stay as usual and would recommend to family and friends. Thanks to you both for another lovely stay. Tips for other travellers - Loads to see and do, Just ask either Nigel or Juliette, Short walk down the hill to the beach and bus stop right outside, Train station a very short walk from here.... Many National Tproperties in area and loads to do, just ask.

 

Mark and Wendy, Aldershot 06.08.20

________________________________________________________________________________

 

Excellent stay

Excellent stay from arrival to departure. Juliette and Nigel excellent hosts. 
Food outstanding.  Room 6 ideal for us.  Evening meal and packed lunch superb.  Would definitely stay again if in the area.  ALL COVID precautions, used staggered breakfasts, one way systems. Felt very safe.

 

Carolyn and Colin, Doncaster 03.08.20

________________________________________________________________________________

Returning guests

Very good service, very helpful about locations too, would visit again in near future

 

John and Margaret, Oswestry 03.08.20

________________________________________________________________________________

Felt COVID-19 Safe

Nigel and Juliette complied well with the corona virus everything was done safely and we had no worries at all. Our stay was for 2 days. All guests could keep their distance from each other with the arrangements for separate sittings at breakfast and there was sanitiser available on entry to the property. We had a great stay and they were very welcoming hosts with lots of extra touches like homemade truffles in our room and homemade yogurt and and jams for breakfast. We would definitely recommend this bed and breakast to everyone and hope to return again soon.

 

Andrew and Julie, Bridgwater 02.08.20

 

Julie and Andrew are already back for a second visit

________________________________________________________________________________

 

Comfortable, clean, COVID-19 safe and good value for money. Would certainly stay here again.

Nigel and Juliette are a genuinely nice couple who are always helpful and attentive, making your stay a relaxed and comfortable affair. Our room was clean and fresh and breakfast was very good quality with choices - we had traditional English breakfast one morning and a lighter breakfast on another. Nigel and Juliette take the threat from corona-virus very seriously and have put in place comprehensive arrangements to comply with government sanitization and social distancing rules; so we had no worries on that front. All-in-all our stay at the Heathcliff House B&B contributed to an enjoyable and relaxing short stay in Torquay. We would certainly go back again.

 

Sevan, 02.08.20

________________________________________________________________________________

 

Linen sparkling white

The bed linen and towels were sparkling white. My husband said that sleeping in the bed was like lying in cream. Very warm welcome from Nigel and Juliette. Cream tea is fab. Very hearty breakfast. Nice touches in the room - complimentary cakes. Covid practices are excellent. Tips for other travellers - The Hole in the Wall, near the harbour is very good value.

 

Louise and David, Shrewsbury 01.08.20

 

Louise and David have already been back for a second visit with their son!

________________________________________________________________________________

 

 

Nigel and Juliette were excellent hosts, always trying to help you. We had evening meal one night it was lovely. Food was excellent. We enjoyed our stay and will be back. Tips for other travellers - Nigel recommended a nice place to eat called The Hole in the Wall, we booked and food and staff were great.

 

Lesley and Robert, Swadlingcoate  01.08.20

________________________________________________________________________________

lllll Great last-minute getaway!

We originally booked Heathcliff House for June but it was cancelled due to Covid, so when they reopened we decided to have a few days away. We were reassured when we read on their website about the measures they were putting into place in order to keep everyone safe and we weren’t disappointed.


Everything was exactly as described and it was really easy to adhere to the new rules eg. using one set of stairs to go up and another to come down. We had a lovely comfortable bed in a room overlooking the garden and were provided with fresh milk for the tea and coffee with one of Juliette's delicious homemade treats every day. She also makes her own butter, yogurts and preserves etc.


The ample breakfast was down to Nigel. You could have your own combination of hot food. It was up to you. Also on offer was fresh fruit, cereals, juices and toast. Absolutely lovely! We didn’t have an evening meal but they certainly smelled good!


Juliette and Nigel were great hosts, really easy to get on with and we were made to feel really welcome.  Heathcliff House is certainly recommended by us and we hope to return again in a couple of months!

 

Ruth and Paul, Cwmbran 31.07.20

________________________________________________________________________________

lllll Outstanding

We are very lucky to have stayed at this fantastic B and B before so we knew, before we visited recently, that we would not be disappointed.

 

Nigel and Juliette are excellent hosts and always make you feel very welcome. The breakfast is delicious, the rooms are comfortable and you are only a short walk from the harbour.


Nigel and Juliette have clearly worked hard to ensure the safety of guests and staff is a top priority. This was clear from the contact made prior to our visit which informed us of the procedures to follow including the one-way system, breakfast sittings and what to do on arrival.

We love staying at Heathcliff House and cannot wait for our next visit.

 

27th July 2020

________________________________________________________________________________

lllll Fantastic holiday

 

What a fantastic B and B run by a brilliant couple, Nigel and Juliette, their motto is arrive as strangers leave as friends well this is so true.  We were warmly greeted on arrival with virtual hugs and instructions on how to get to our room and what Covid-19 measures had been put in place for us to follow.


The room was lovely and comfortable and the tea/coffee facilities were great, we had fresh milk which is so much nicer than the little plastic pots.


We had opted for the evening meals and all where very well cooked and tasty, would definitely recommend the chilli.  Juliette deserts were exceptional.  Breakfast was great, homemade yoghurt, jams, curd, marmalades and even butter. The sausages, black pudding and bacon were very tasty.  It was so good having the bar and we used it every night, great talking to fellow guests and of course Nigel who kept us entertained with his chat.


I would most definitely recommend Heathcliff House for a stay especially during COVID-19 situation, I felt they put as much protection as they could in and felt so safe.  Thank you both for your hard work and company x

 

Suze Pacey, Southport 19.07.20

________________________________________________________________________________

Fantastic weekend break

Lovely room with en-suite, clean, comfy and and a very warm welcome. The breakfast was delicious and the COVID precautions are very effective which made me feel confident. Would happily return again.

 

Sally 19.07.20

________________________________________________________________________________

Great Stay

Juliette and Nigel are wonderful hosts and ensured we had a lovely stay, wish we could have stayed for longer. They also have made a great effort to protect against Covid-19 transmission and we felt very safe.

Sharna, 12.07.20

________________________________________________________________________________

lllll Best b and b in Torquay

 

Nigel and Juliette are very good hosts, made us very welcome.  The b and b was spotless and very clean.  I had no worries at all about covid.  The breakfast was excellent, the way breakfast service was planned worked very well.  We felt very safe and comfortable.  Although there was no housekeeping due to covid, this was not a problem as we didn't mind making our own bed.  Nothing you asked Nigel and Juliette was a problem.  We can’t wait to stay again.

 

Ricky and Ann, Coventry   09.07.20

________________________________________________________________________________

lllll Best B&B in Torquay

 

Back for the second time. Nigel and Juliette make you feel welcome and safe. The B&B was spotless. The way the breakfast was planned, it worked great.  Look forward to them again soon. All the best.

 

Ann & Ricky, Coventry 08.07.20

________________________________________________________________________________

 

Felt safe and secure

Excellent friendly service. The Covid procedures in place made us feel very safe and secure. The meals were excellent. The owners went above and beyond for you.

 

08.07.20

_______________________________________________________________________________

Print Print | Sitemap
© Torquays B&B guest house 'Heathcliff House'