Heathcliff House Reviews Torquay in Devon
Heathcliff House Reviews Torquay in Devon
 

Want to know what other guests thought of their stay at Heathcliff House?

9.6/10

Nigel and Juliette were the perfect hosts, very patient and accommodating, nothing was too much trouble

 

Breakfast was great, A very good variety and the homemade yogurt, preserves and butter added a unique and welcoming touch. The location was superb as it was just minutes from the Marina and easy access to great restaurants. The seafood cream tea is a must try. The array of flavours made our palates dance and sing. To sum up in one word SUPERB!!!

 

Gail, Cardiff, Glamorganshire  30th September 2019

8.3/10

 

Warm welcome

 

Careene, Plymouth, Devon  30th September 2019

10/10

Fantastic owners, fantastic place – would highly recommend

 

On arrival it felt like you were catching up with friends, loved it from the minute we stepped through the door, very friendly owners, nothing was too much trouble, great room nice touches like fresh milk in the fridge, cake and fruit selection, fantastic breakfast all locally sourced produce, great location, free parking.

 

Marina, Worcester, Worcestershire  30th September 2019

10/10

A comfortable guest house at a great price in a perfect location for all needs

 

Nigel and Juliet agreed to an arrival/check in time up to 3 hours after their usual check in. This was critical to our travel and weekend plans.  Their welcome is always very warm and friendly. Their rooms are always well serviced and impeccably clean. Breakfasts are the best we have experienced in any hotel worldwide. Ingredients are locally sourced. Jams, butters and yoghurt is made in house. There is a bar on the premises that is a popular and friendly meeting place for evening drinks.  The hotel location is on a main bus route to the town, beach and shops. Close to the local Rail station and local pubs. Nigel and Juliette work extremely hard to ensure that their hotel is a# homely and comfortable as possible for all their guests. They have big personalities and warm hearts.

 

Paul, Harlow, Essex  15th September 2019

9.6/10  Peter, Richmond  4th September 2019

10/10 Highly recommended, we plan to revisit next year

 

A great place to stay, clean, friendly and a breakfast to behold!

 

Martin, Greenwich 30th August 2019

 

 

10/10

 

Couldn’t fault.  Spotlessly clean.  Great welcome from Nigel and Juliette.  Nothing was a problem, the room was really comfortable.  We really enjoyed our stay.

 

Linda Rollinson, 15th August 2019

8.3/10  Very Good!!!

 

As we had the smallest and cheapest room available, it was adequate for what we were charged.  The hospitality was first class ….. very welcoming, sociable hosts.  Breakfast was all you could ask for ….. Husband loves his full English, whereas I love my cereal, toast, yoghurt etc and it was all catered for with good choice of juices, teas and coffees ….. basically a great breakfast.  Thank you Nigel and Juliette J  Clothes storage and size of TV could be improved but we also paid a lot less than the other rooms cost, so fair for the money.

 

David and Cathy 11th August 2019

 

10/10  Arthur, Merseyside  8th August 2019

 

 

9.5/10  Excellent stay

 

A lovely couple who met us with a smile

 

Roy, Rickmansworth  3rd August 2019

10/10  Nice and clean.  Good location for everything.  Very small bathroom.

 

William, Swindon  2nd August 2019

9.6/10 Agradable estancia en un bonito pueblo

           Pleasant stay in a beautiful town

 

En el desayuno se adaptaron al hecho de que yo era vegano.  Me gusto todo.

At breakfast they adapted to the fact that I was vegan.  I liked it all.

 

Jorge, Spain  1st August 2019

10/10 Shane Jackson, Birmingham  25th July 2019

 
Another few days spent at Heathcliff House, a lovely welcome by Juliette and Nigel, nothing to much trouble from them, rooms very comfortable, and my best thing is there Breakfast, fantastic, home made butter and preserves lovely, and if you want a alcoholic drink before you go out of an evening? a lovely little bar there as well, We will be back soon.
 
Sue and Mike, Taunton  15th July 2019

7.9/10  Lovely place,we had a brilliant stay x

 

Lovely hosts

 

Beverley and Christopher, Burton-on-Trent

10/10  

 

The welcome from Nigel was fantastic. You can tell this accommodation is run by really warm caring people who are passionate about what they do. Love the breakfast area.

 

Shane and Evelyn, Cork

10/10  Graham and Julie, London

10/10  Mary and John, Abercarn

  • Fabulous stay and already booked for 2020.
  • The little added extras like the homemade biscuits which were left in our room were lovely. Really liked the room and the bed was especially comfy.

10/10

Nigel and Juliette great hosts, will definitely stay here again

Breakfast was excellent, muffins every morning fresh, raspberry and white chocolate ones melted in your mouth, bed extra comfy.

Janice and Roy, Nantwich   29th June 2019

 

Google Review ¶¶¶¶¶

 

Excellent place to stay. Nigel and Juliet are lovely people and breakfasts are superb. The property has easy parking. The train station is a five minute walk and a regular bus to and from Torquay stops outside. It is good value for money and we will always stay there when visiting the area.

 

Derek and Eve Warman

9.2/10

 

First class experience

 

The whole experience was positive, hosts excellent, room lovely, breakfast great. It was a lovely B&B. We will return.

 

Debbie and Paul, Swindon   23rd June 2019

10/10

 

Nice relaxing 3 night break arrived as guests left as friends !!!


Attention to detail at breakfast time was lovely and the bar area was comfy and relaxing with good chat...

 

Paul and Jo, Dewsbury 11th June 2019

¤¤¤¤¤ Great place to stay

 

Spent five nights at this B&B. Very comfortable stay, the room (room7) was very comfortable and clean with lovely bedding and a superb shower room. Juliette and Nigel were excellent hosts with a wealth of knowledge on the area and places to go. Juliette’s home made biscuits were topped up every day. Breakfast was superb and as vegetarians we were well catered for. I recommend this family run B&B strongly.

 

Teresa and Francis Tippins  9th June 2019

10/10

 

Great hosts / exceptional breakfast / good location.

 

Fred and Margaret, Liverpool  3rd June 2019

 

 

Belinda Williams  recommends

Heathcliff House B&B Exclusively for Adults

 

26 May at 09:16 on Facebook


We enjoyed a totally relaxing break at Heathcliff House this week. Juliette and Nigel are fabulous hosts - so friendly, funny, caring and helpful.

 

Excellent breakfasts (including Juliette's superb home made Clementine and Gin marmalade, so good I brought 2 jars home with me).

 

Lots of lovely personal touches e.g. home made biscuits / granola bars in the room to have with your coffee, fresh fruit and water on arrival etc.

 

We had the Seafood afternoon tea on Thursday, there was so much of it we didn't eat again until breakfast on Friday !

 

We've stayed at HH 3 times now and each room has been very comfortable, clean, bright and airy. As soon as we arrive, my slippers go on and boom ..... I'm home from home ?.

 

We can't recommend Nigel & Juliette and Heathcliff House highly enough!

We're looking forward to our next stay, see you soon guys xxx

Mark Davies recommends
Heathcliff House B&B Exclusively for Adults


24 May 2019 on Facebook

 

​great place... great people.... great food.... the place to stay

10/10

 

Plenty of choice from the cold buffet , cooked breakfast was very good nice and hot. Everything was home-made right down to the butter.  Everything was just perfect. Juliette and Nigel were lovely and very down to earth, nothing was too much trouble for then couldn't have asked for more.

 

Belinda, 15th April 2019

 

 

10/10 Lovely place

 

Lovely breakfast with lots of home-made goodies, everyone very friendly

 

Julie 14th April 2019

 

 

10/10 Home from Home

 

The owners Nigel and Juliette were great and made you feel like one of the family, not only to us but all the other guests.  Unfortunately, we had to come home, would have loved to stay longer!

 

Mike and Chris, 8th April 2019

 

 

9.2/10

 

Simon Gartside, 8th April 2019

 

 

10/10

 

Fantastic, ticked all the boxes

 

Paul, 15th March 2019

 

 

7.5/10

 

Bed was comfy, room was large but breakfast was too early

 

Trudie, 10th March 2019

 

 

9.2/10 I enjoyed my stay and felt comfortable at the Heathcliff House!

 

Nigel and Juliette were friendly and helpful and my room (number 6) had been recently redecorated and had a new en-suite.  There was a good choice at breakfast and the full English was good quality!

 

Annie, 10th March 2019

 

 

¤¤¤¤¤ Another fantastic stay


Stayed at Heathcliff for a special Valentine's weekend. Lovely welcome as always, champagne in room as ordered. Afternoon tea on Friday all home made cakes and pastries. Saturday night 3 course evening meal included in price it was delicious. This was our 3rd visit and it was just as good if not better than the last. We would thoroughly recommend, and we will definitely return.

10/10

 

Food was great

 

Ieuan and Annelie, Abergavenny  16th February 2019

10/10

 

Arrive a guest leave a friend. Nigel and Juliette are truly the best hosts. Nothing is too much trouble.  Location is perfect for getting anywhere in the South of Devon.

 

Paul, Harlow  24th December 2018

7.9/10

 

The room was very good. The owners where very helpful and very welcoming and friendly.  There was a lot of stairs.

 

Colin Jones,  Birmingham  15th November 2018

¤¤¤¤¤ Weekend Stay

 

Lovely comfortable accommodation. Nigel and Juliette are great hosts and make you feel very welcome. The cooked breakfasts are delicious with locally sourced products and some homemade jams, muffins etc. There is an added addition of a nice quiet bar, with local beers. Highly recommended.

 

Kevin K, Crayford, Kent 28th October 2018

¤¤¤¤¤ Convenient with a delicious breakfast

 

Had 4 nights stay as solo traveller. Nigel and Juliette are very friendly. I was impressed by their professionalism from my first contact. Delicious breakfast freshly cooked. Enjoyed the big shower in my room. Conveniently near bus stop and Torre Staion so easy to leave car in the car park. Will stay here again.

 

Mavis, Kenilworth 27th October 2018

10/10

 

Loved all of the experience, lovely to stay, very friendly, it’s a MUST!!!  Didn’t want to leave it’s such a lovely place

 

Claire, Andover 25th October 2018

¤¤¤¤¤ Great Place to Stay

 

Great hosts, could not do enough for you. Very comfortable room and bed. Lots of choice for breakfast and very nice fruit salad and yogurt. Gluten free and other allergies all catered for. Very yummy full English breakfast. Brilliant location to get around Torquay. We would definitely book again.

 

Teresa, Brentwood 22nd October 2018

7.5/10 Jacky, Oostende, Belgium 22nd October 2018

¤¤¤¤¤ Weekend away

 

Lovely people. made very welcome, room was fine. Nice idea to use all the fresh produce for breakfast, nothing was too much trouble, well situated, nice walk into Torquay. The only thing I would change would be breakfast hours as a little bit early.

 

Tracy, Shepton Mallet 21st October 2018

¤¤¤¤¤ Loved it

 

Everything you would expect from a B&B, great friendly chatty hosts, neat and tidy room, fantastic breakfast lovely choice, we had hoped to revisit this year but circumstance's prevented, so hope to be back in 2019

 

Mick, Doncaster 20th October 2018

¤¤¤¤¤ Excellent hosts, wonderful facilities, definitely going back to visit our new found family

 

We booked a room at Heathcliff house, were very warmly greeted by Nigel and Juliette. Spent a wonderful couple of days there and enjoying both the local area and our hosts hospitality. We left having made wonderful new friends and will definitely be returning to visit them. Thank you.

 

Harvey B, London 18th October 2018

¤¤¤¤¤ Fabulous place to stay

 

Nigel and Juliette make you feel most welcome from the moment you walk into their house. The rooms are large, clean and very comfortable beds. Their breakfast is quite wonderful, with home made muffins, jams, yoghurt and hand churned butter, The choice for breakfast was quite amazing and all delivered with a smile. They were happy to give you information and advice about the area. A great place to stay.

 

Ruth, Australia

10/10 Great time had by all

 

Really good breakfast, good little bar, friendly owners

 

Tim, Frome 15th October 2018

10/10 Another excellent stay

 

Lovely freshly cooked breakfast including homemade butter, preserves, yogurt, biscuits etc. Very friendly hosts, Nigel and Juliette. Nothing too much trouble. Stayed in September and just returned for two nights. Will definitely return.  There was nothing I didn’t like only the weather which no one can control.

 

Jean, Bristol 15th October 2018

7.5/10

 

Great breakfast, friendly owners, there are lots of stairs

 

Susan, Havant 12th October 2018

5/5 Wonderful Stay

 

This was one of the best stays we have ever had, the hosts were lovely and friendly, the breakfast was better than 4 and 5 star hotels we have stayed in. All homemade even the butter for the toast. The bedroom was immaculate, clean and tidy with fresh fruit, milk and homemade biscuits. But Nigel and Juliette also really care, my husband was unwell on our last night due to some dodgy seafood eaten elsewhere. They both came up to ask if they could help, produce iced water and checked he was ok,  this would never have happened in a faceless hotel. Thank you for a wonderful 4 days we will be back ?

 

Sara, Bath  18th September 2018

5/5 Honest Review!


Stayed here this weekend 29/06-01/07 2018


House: On arrival there was plenty of free parking.. We were greeted with a very warm welcome... the reception area is large, clutter free and you can instantly tell that this B&B is spotlessly clean! We were offered an orientation of where to go, what to see and where to eat. We were shown to our room and again it was spotless! #HappyDays Room: The linen/towels were crisp and clean.. and then we spotted the extras.. so we had tea/coffee making facilities in our room with lovely large mugs!  There were plenty of plug sockets for all our gadgets and the clock/radio had USB sockets ... bonus!! Plenty of coat hangers were supplied, hand soap/shower gel (large bottles) were full and branded! The owners have thought of everything ... There is an information folder in the room (a must read!) it gives you so much info on the surrounding areas, public transportation, (the number 12 stops right outside.. £5 for a hop on hop off 24hour pass - with access to Torquay/Brixham/Paignton) history of the house, breakfast info... and so much more.. The bed was so comfortable and we each had 2 pillows...

 

Breakfast: The hot breakfast is freshly cooked as per your order and you can add, omit and have extras if u wish - on your plate with no hassle.. and it’s hot, fresh, delicious and so tasty!! There is also a huge selection of cold buffet... cereals, muffins, cookies.. there’s a variety of milk, tea bags, coffee, jams, marmalade, curds... and all the preserves were home made! (Lemon Curd... Ooff! Gorgeous!) even the butter is hand churned!! The young lady who we shall call C, (Data Protection) who waited the breakfast tables gave an impeccable service, polite, friendly and a credit to the business!


Recap: I have to say We would highly recommend this B&B..Nigel & Juliette put customer service at the top of their list and it comes naturally to them.. This is so much more than a typical B&B...It’s like ... home from home... Our main concerns when away from home are... Clean/Tidy/Comfy and this home has ticked all 3 and exceeded by far!

Print Print | Sitemap
© Torquays B&B guest house 'Heathcliff House'