Heathcliff House Reviews Torquay in Devon
Heathcliff House Reviews Torquay in Devon
 

Even More Reviews

lllll Great last-minute getaway!

We originally booked Heathcliff House for June but it was cancelled due to Covid, so when they reopened we decided to have a few days away. We were reassured when we read on their website about the measures they were putting into place in order to keep everyone safe and we weren’t disappointed.


Everything was exactly as described and it was really easy to adhere to the new rules eg. using one set of stairs to go up and another to come down. We had a lovely comfortable bed in a room overlooking the garden and were provided with fresh milk for the tea and coffee with one of Juliette's delicious homemade treats every day. She also makes her own butter, yogurts and preserves etc.


The ample breakfast was down to Nigel. You could have your own combination of hot food. It was up to you. Also on offer was fresh fruit, cereals, juices and toast. Absolutely lovely! We didn’t have an evening meal but they certainly smelled good!


Juliette and Nigel were great hosts, really easy to get on with and we were made to feel really welcome.  Heathcliff House is certainly recommended by us and we hope to return again in a couple of months!

 

Ruth and Paul, Cwmbran 31.07.20

________________________________________________________________________________

lllll Outstanding

We are very lucky to have stayed at this fantastic B and B before so we knew, before we visited recently, that we would not be disappointed.

 

Nigel and Juliette are excellent hosts and always make you feel very welcome. The breakfast is delicious, the rooms are comfortable and you are only a short walk from the harbour.


Nigel and Juliette have clearly worked hard to ensure the safety of guests and staff is a top priority. This was clear from the contact made prior to our visit which informed us of the procedures to follow including the one-way system, breakfast sittings and what to do on arrival.

We love staying at Heathcliff House and cannot wait for our next visit.

 

27th July 2020

________________________________________________________________________________

lllll Fantastic holiday

 

What a fantastic B and B run by a brilliant couple, Nigel and Juliette, their motto is arrive as strangers leave as friends well this is so true.  We were warmly greeted on arrival with virtual hugs and instructions on how to get to our room and what Covid-19 measures had been put in place for us to follow.


The room was lovely and comfortable and the tea/coffee facilities were great, we had fresh milk which is so much nicer than the little plastic pots.


We had opted for the evening meals and all where very well cooked and tasty, would definitely recommend the chilli.  Juliette deserts were exceptional.  Breakfast was great, homemade yoghurt, jams, curd, marmalades and even butter. The sausages, black pudding and bacon were very tasty.  It was so good having the bar and we used it every night, great talking to fellow guests and of course Nigel who kept us entertained with his chat.


I would most definitely recommend Heathcliff House for a stay especially during COVID-19 situation, I felt they put as much protection as they could in and felt so safe.  Thank you both for your hard work and company x

 

Suze Pacey, Southport 19.07.20

________________________________________________________________________________

Fantastic weekend break

Lovely room with en-suite, clean, comfy and and a very warm welcome. The breakfast was delicious and the COVID precautions are very effective which made me feel confident. Would happily return again.

 

Sally 19.07.20

________________________________________________________________________________

Great Stay

Juliette and Nigel are wonderful hosts and ensured we had a lovely stay, wish we could have stayed for longer. They also have made a great effort to protect against Covid-19 transmission and we felt very safe.

Sharna, 12.07.20

________________________________________________________________________________

lllll Best b and b in Torquay

 

Nigel and Juliette are very good hosts, made us very welcome.  The b and b was spotless and very clean.  I had no worries at all about covid.  The breakfast was excellent, the way breakfast service was planned worked very well.  We felt very safe and comfortable.  Although there was no housekeeping due to covid, this was not a problem as we didn't mind making our own bed.  Nothing you asked Nigel and Juliette was a problem.  We can’t wait to stay again.

 

Ricky and Ann, Coventry   09.07.20

________________________________________________________________________________

lllll Best B&B in Torquay

 

Back for the second time. Nigel and Juliette make you feel welcome and safe. The B&B was spotless. The way the breakfast was planned, it worked great.  Look forward to them again soon. All the best.

 

Ann & Ricky, Coventry 08.07.20

________________________________________________________________________________

 

Felt safe and secure

Excellent friendly service. The Covid procedures in place made us feel very safe and secure. The meals were excellent. The owners went above and beyond for you.

 

08.07.20

_______________________________________________________________________________

¤¤¤¤¤ Yet another fantastic stay


Went to Heathcliff House for my birthday. Fantastic welcome as usual, great food, great company. Loads of laughs, the weather didn’t matter as we were in the bar in the evening with Nigel and Juliette. Birthday morning received a lovely card and present at breakfast. We have been here about 6 times and wouldn’t go anywhere else in Torquay, you wouldn’t beat the excellent breakfast or hosts as nothing is too much trouble.  Sorry Nigel we will be back!

 

Jean and Andy, Bristol 

Nigel and Juliette were the perfect hosts, very patient and accommodating, nothing was too much trouble

 

Breakfast was great, A very good variety and the homemade yogurt, preserves and butter added a unique and welcoming touch. The location was superb as it was just minutes from the Marina and easy access to great restaurants. The seafood cream tea is a must try. The array of flavours made our palates dance and sing. To sum up in one word SUPERB!!!

 

Gail, Cardiff, Glamorganshire  30th September 2019

Fantastic owners, fantastic place – would highly recommend

 

On arrival it felt like you were catching up with friends, loved it from the minute we stepped through the door, very friendly owners, nothing was too much trouble, great room nice touches like fresh milk in the fridge, cake and fruit selection, fantastic breakfast all locally sourced produce, great location, free parking. 10/10

 

Marina, Worcester, Worcestershire  30th September 2019

Highly recommended, we plan to revisit next year

 

A great place to stay, clean, friendly and a breakfast to behold! 10/10

 

Martin, Greenwich 30th August 2019

Spotlessly clean B&B

 

Couldn’t fault this Bed and Breakfast.  Spotlessly clean.  Great welcome from Nigel and Juliette.  Nothing was a problem, the room was really comfortable.  We really enjoyed our stay.  10/10

 

Linda Rollinson, 15th August 2019

Very Good!!!

 

As we had the smallest and cheapest room available, it was adequate for what we were charged.  The hospitality was first class ….. very welcoming, sociable hosts.  Breakfast was all you could ask for ….. Husband loves his full English, whereas I love my cereal, toast, yoghurt etc and it was all catered for with good choice of juices, teas and coffees ….. basically a great breakfast.  Thank you Nigel and Juliette J  Clothes storage and size of TV could be improved but we also paid a lot less than the other rooms cost, so fair for the money.

 

David and Cathy 11th August 2019

 

Check out all our room types before deciding

which room you'd like to stay in --->

Agradable estancia en un bonito pueblo

Pleasant stay in a beautiful town

 

En el desayuno se adaptaron al hecho de que yo era vegano.  Me gusto todo.

 

At breakfast they adapted to the fact that I was vegan.  I liked it all.

 

Jorge, Spain  1st August 2019

¤¤¤¤¤ The best B and B

 

Another few days spent at Heathcliff House, a lovely welcome by Juliette and Nigel, nothing too much trouble.  Rooms very comfortable.  My favourite thing there is BREAKFAST.  Fantastic, homemade butter and preserves, locally sourced food.  If you want an alcoholic drink before you go out of an evening?  There’s a lovely little bar there as well.

 

We will be back soon.

 

Sue and Mike, Taunton  15th July 2019

Nigel and Juliette are passionate about what they do

 

The welcome from Nigel was fantastic. You can tell this accommodation is run by really warm caring people who are passionate about what they do. Love the breakfast area. 10/10

 

Shane and Evelyn, Cork

Nigel and Juliette are great hosts!

We will definitely stay here again

 

Breakfast was excellent, fresh muffins every morning, raspberry and white chocolate ones melted in yoru mouth.  Bed extra comfy.  10/10

 

Janice and Roy, Nantwich  29th June 2019

Google Review ¶¶¶¶¶ Excellent place to stay

 

Nigel and Juliette are lovely people and breakfasts are superb.  The property has easy parking.  The train station is a five minute walk and a regular bus to and from Torquay stops outside.  It is good value for money and we will always stay there when visiting the area.

 

Derek and Eve Warman

First Class Experience

 

The whole experience was positive, hosts excellent, room lovely, breakfast great. It was a lovely B&B. We will return.

 

Debbie and Paul, Swindon   23rd June 2019

Relaxing 3 night break arrived as guests left as friends !!!


Attention to detail at breakfast time was lovely and the bar area was comfy and relaxing with good chat... 10/10

 

Paul and Jo, Dewsbury 11th June 2019

¤¤¤¤¤ Great place to stay

 

Spent five nights at this B&B. Very comfortable stay, the room (room7) was very comfortable and clean with lovely bedding and a superb shower room. Juliette and Nigel were excellent hosts with a wealth of knowledge on the area and places to go. Juliette’s home made biscuits were topped up every day. Breakfast was superb and as vegetarians we were well catered for. I recommend this family run B&B strongly.

 

Teresa and Francis Tippins  9th June 2019

Belinda Williams  recommends

Heathcliff House B&B Exclusively for Adults

26th May 2019 on Facebook


We enjoyed a totally relaxing break at Heathcliff House this week. Juliette and Nigel are fabulous hosts - so friendly, funny, caring and helpful.

 

Excellent breakfasts (including Juliette's superb home made Clementine and Gin marmalade, so good I brought 2 jars home with me).

 

Lots of lovely personal touches e.g. home made biscuits / granola bars in the room to have with your coffee, fresh fruit and water on arrival etc.

 

We had the Seafood afternoon tea on Thursday, there was so much of it we didn't eat again until breakfast on Friday !

 

We've stayed at Heathcliff House 3 times now and each room has been very comfortable, clean, bright and airy. As soon as we arrive, my slippers go on and boom ..... I'm home from home.

 

We can't recommend Nigel & Juliette and Heathcliff House highly enough!

 

We're looking forward to our next stay, see you soon guys xxx

Mark Davies recommends
Heathcliff House B&B Exclusively for Adults, 

24th May 2019 on Facebook

 

great place ...

great people ...

great food ...

the place to stay

10/10  Everything was just perfect

 

Plenty of choice from the cold buffet , cooked breakfast was very good nice and hot. Everything was home-made right down to the butter.  Everything was just perfect. Juliette and Nigel were lovely and very down to earth, nothing was too much trouble for then couldn't have asked for more.

 

Belinda, 15th April 2019

Lovely place

 

Lovely breakfast with lots of home-made goodies, everyone very friendly 10 our of 10

 

Julie 14th April 2019

Home from Home

 

The owners Nigel and Juliette were great and made you feel like one of the family, not only to us but all the other guests.  Unfortunately, we had to come home, would have loved to stay longer!  10/10

 

Mike and Chris, 8th April 2019

Enjoyed my stay and felt comfortable at Heathcliff House!

 

Nigel and Juliette were friendly and helpful and my room (No.6) had been recently redecorated and had a new en-suite.  There was a good choice at breakfast and the full English was good quality!  10/10

 

Annie, 10th March 2019

¤¤¤¤¤ Another fantastic stay


Stayed at Heathcliff for a special Valentine's weekend. Lovely welcome as always, champagne in room as ordered. Afternoon tea on Friday all home made cakes and pastries. Saturday night 3 course evening meal included in price it was delicious. This was our 3rd visit and it was just as good if not better than the last. We would thoroughly recommend, and we will definitely return.

Arrive as guests, leave as friends

 

Arrive a guest leave a friend. Nigel and Juliette are truly the best hosts. Nothing is too much trouble.  Location is perfect for getting anywhere in the South of Devon. 10/10

 

Paul, Harlow  24th December 2018

¤¤¤¤¤ Weekend Stay

 

Lovely comfortable accommodation. Nigel and Juliette are great hosts and make you feel very welcome. The cooked breakfasts are delicious with locally sourced products and some homemade jams, muffins etc. There is an added addition of a nice quiet bar, with local beers. Highly recommended.

 

Kevin K, Crayford, Kent 28th October 2018

¤¤¤¤¤ Convenient with a delicious breakfast

 

Had 4 nights stay as solo traveller. Nigel and Juliette are very friendly. I was impressed by their professionalism from my first contact. Delicious breakfast freshly cooked. Enjoyed the big shower in my room. Conveniently near bus stop and Torre Staion so easy to leave car in the car park. Will stay here again.

 

Mavis, Kenilworth 27th October 2018

Stay at Heathcliff House

 

Loved all of the experience, lovely to stay, very friendly, it’s a MUST!!!  Didn’t want to leave it’s such a lovely place.  10/10

 

Claire, Andover 25th October 2018

¤¤¤¤¤ Great Place to Stay

 

Great hosts, could not do enough for you. Very comfortable room and bed. Lots of choice for breakfast and very nice fruit salad and yogurt. Gluten free and other allergies all catered for. Very yummy full English breakfast. Brilliant location to get around Torquay. We would definitely book again.

 

Teresa, Brentwood 22nd October 2018

Wonderful Stay

 

This was one of the best stays we have ever had, the hosts were lovely and friendly, the breakfast was better than 4 and 5 star hotels we have stayed in. All homemade even the butter for the toast. The bedroom was immaculate, clean and tidy with fresh fruit, milk and homemade biscuits. But Nigel and Juliette also really care, my husband was unwell on our last night due to some dodgy seafood eaten elsewhere. They both came up to ask if they could help, produce iced water and checked he was ok,  this would never have happened in a faceless hotel. Thank you for a wonderful 4 days we will be back x

 

Sara, Bath  18th September 2018

Honest Review!  TEN OUT OF TEN


Stayed here this weekend 29/06-01/07 2018


House: On arrival there was plenty of free parking.. We were greeted with a very warm welcome... the reception area is large, clutter free and you can instantly tell that this B&B is spotlessly clean! We were offered an orientation of where to go, what to see and where to eat. We were shown to our room and again it was spotless! #HappyDays Room: The linen/towels were crisp and clean.. and then we spotted the extras.. so we had tea/coffee making facilities in our room with lovely large mugs!  There were plenty of plug sockets for all our gadgets and the clock/radio had USB sockets ... bonus!! Plenty of coat hangers were supplied, hand soap/shower gel (large bottles) were full and branded! The owners have thought of everything ... There is an information folder in the room (a must read!) it gives you so much info on the surrounding areas, public transportation, (the number 12 stops right outside.. £5 for a hop on hop off 24hour pass - with access to Torquay/Brixham/Paignton) history of the house, breakfast info... and so much more.. The bed was so comfortable and we each had 2 pillows...

 

Breakfast: The hot breakfast is freshly cooked as per your order and you can add, omit and have extras if u wish - on your plate with no hassle.. and it’s hot, fresh, delicious and so tasty!! There is also a huge selection of cold buffet... cereals, muffins, cookies.. there’s a variety of milk, tea bags, coffee, jams, marmalade, curds... and all the preserves were home made! (Lemon Curd... Ooff! Gorgeous!) even the butter is hand churned!! The young lady who we shall call C, (Data Protection) who waited the breakfast tables gave an impeccable service, polite, friendly and a credit to the business!


Recap: I have to say We would highly recommend this B&B..Nigel & Juliette put customer service at the top of their list and it comes naturally to them.. This is so much more than a typical B&B...It’s like ... home from home... Our main concerns when away from home are... Clean/Tidy/Comfy and this home has ticked all 3 and exceeded by far!

Print Print | Sitemap
© Torquays B&B guest house 'Heathcliff House'